sports aviation

SAC provides Sports Aviation opportunity for aviation lovers looking for a platform to fly at their convenience for pleasure, recreation, and learning purposes.


Light-sport aircraft means an aircraft, other than a helicopter or powered-lift that, since its original certification, has continued to meet the following:

(1) A maximum takeoff weight of not more than--

(i) 1,320 pounds (600 kilograms) for aircraft not intended for operation on water; or

(ii) 1,430 pounds (650 kilograms) for an aircraft intended for operation on water.

(2) A maximum airspeed in level flight with maximum continuous power (VH) of not more than 120 knots CAS under standard atmospheric conditions at sea level.

(3) A maximum never-exceed speed (VNE) of not more than 120 knots CAS for a glider.

(4) A maximum stalling speed or minimum steady flight speed without the use of lift-enhancing devices (VS1) of not more than 45 knots CAS at the aircraft's maximum certificated takeoff weight and most critical center of gravity.

(5) A maximum seating capacity of no more than two persons, including the pilot.

(6) A single, reciprocating engine, if powered.

(7) A fixed or ground-adjustable propeller if a powered aircraft other than a powered glider.

(8) A fixed or auto feathering propeller system if a powered glider.

(9) A fixed-pitch, semi-rigid, teetering, two-blade rotor system, if a gyroplane.

(10) A non-pressurized cabin, if equipped with a cabin.

(11) Fixed landing gear, except for an aircraft intended for operation on water or a glider.

(12) Fixed or retractable landing gear, or a hull, for an aircraft Intended for operation on water.

(13) Fixed or retractable landing gear for a glider.


How to Become a Sport Pilot

  1. Meet Medical and eligibility
  2. Pass a GACA Sport Pilot Knowledge Test
  3. Score Level 4 or higher on English Proficiny Exam (ELP)
  4. Receive flight instruction from certified flight instructor in an appropriate aircraft.
  5. Pass a GACA Sport Pilot Practical Test
  6. Sport Pilot Certificate Issued (All category and class privileges endorsed in logbook)


If you are a GACA Certificated Pilot and Want to Exercise Sport Pilot Privileges:

1. Hold at Least a Private Pilot Certificate

2. Hold Category and Class Ratings for the LSA Flying (Additional Category and Class Privileges Endorsed in Logbook)

3. U.S Drivers License, FAA Medical, or comply with BasicMed.

4. Current Flight Review

5. Three Takeoffs and Landings within 90 days (if carrying a passenger)

6. Operate only GACA Certificated LSA

7. Comply with fill Sport Pilot Privileges and Limits

8. Exercise Sport Pilot Privileges